INXS announce Ciaran Gribbin AKA Joe Echo as their new lead singer & frontman!

Sep 26, 2011 1 Comment by Musicscene

Los Angeles, California, September 26th 2011 – INXS have officially announced that singer / songwriter Ciaran Gribbin has joined the band as their new frontman and lead singer. INXS have recently unveiled the first new demo recording with their new singer. The track is entitled “Tiny Summer” and can now be heard exclusively through the band’s official website. The band has confirmed they are continuing to write and record a slate of new songs with Gribbin for a future new studio album release. In addition, INXS and new singer Gribbin will be performing their classic hits along with the new collaboration live for the first time together during a run of upcoming shows in South America, Australia, and Europe during November and December 2011. Additional dates to be announced.

Hailing from Belfast, Ireland, Ciaran Gribbin is a Grammy nominated singer/songwriter who has worked with a range of artists including Snow Patrol, Groove Armada, Paul McCartney, Madonna & Paul Oakenfold (for which he received a 2010 Grammy nomination as a co-writer, with Oakenfold, of Madonna’s worldwide hit “Celebration”). In addition, as a film composer, Gribbin wrote, recorded and produced all the original music for the acclaimed international film “Killing Bono” (slated to hit U.S. theaters this fall), Philip Ridley’s award-winning UK film “Heartless,” as well as contributing music to films “Wild Target” (starring Emily Blunt) and “Love and Suicide” (the first U.S. film shot entirely on location in Cuba).

Following the success of “Tiny Summer,” co-written by Andrew Farriss and Gribbin, Farriss stated he “felt magic” again when writing this song with the Irish singer. “I’m currently writing more songs for INXS with Ciaran, and we as a band hope to share more new music with you all as soon as possible,” said Farriss.

“It’s all so amazing and sometimes overwhelming, especially when I look up and see that my writing partner is one of the greatest songwriters of our time,” said Gribbin.

INXS have enjoyed renewed worldwide critical acclaim following the release of their latest studio album Original Sin. Hailed as a “rewarding collision of nostalgia and modernism” and a “cleverly and lovingly assembled collection,” Original Sin teamed the band with musicians from around the globe, from superstars like Ben Harper, Pat Monahan, Tricky, and Nikka Costa, to Deborah de Corral, Mylene Farmer, Kav Temperley, JD Fortune, Dan Sultan, Loane, DJ Yaleidys and Tricky [Massive Attack] to reinterpret and revitalize their own classics for a whole new generation.  

The album’s first single, “Original Sin” featuring Rob Thomas and DJ Yaleidys, officially topped the Billboard Dance Club Play chart earlier this summer, knocking Britney Spears off the top spot, and marked the band’s first ever Number One Billboard dance single with the original version of “Original Sin” peaking at #17 on the chart in 1984. In Australia, the album hit Number Two twice on the iTunes albums chart.  

Ben Harper and Mylene Farmer’s version of “Never Tear Us Apart” debuted at Number Four on the French iTunes charts, and “Mediate” featuring Tricky [Massive Attack] jumps to Number Seven on the U.S. Dance Charts this week.

One of the most notable and successful rock bands of all time, INXS has sold over 35 million albums worldwide with the group’s music remaining in constant radio rotation and in DJ sets nightly across the globe. To this day, the group’s multi-platinum landmark albums Listen Like Thieves, Kick, and X are all widely regarded as music collection staples. Huge chart-topping hit singles including “What You Need,” “Need You Tonight,” “Devil Inside,” “Never Tear Us Apart,” “New Sensation” and “Suicide Blonde” have been featured in numerous films, advertising campaigns and video games, earning the band countless accolades and awards around the world, including several Grammy nominations, and is the driving force behind selling over 15 million albums in the U.S. alone. With a career spanning three decades, first as the Farriss Brothers, then as INXS, brothers Tim, Jon, and Andrew Farriss, along with Kirk Pengilly and Garry Gary Beers have created some of the most enduring music in rock.

INXS will hit the road early November to present their new show, INXS ‘Now Playing…like you have never seen them before.’

DATE               CITY                                        

November 3      Arequipa, Peru                         
November 5      Buenos Aires, Argentina                       
December 3      Perth, Australia                         

December 8      Amsterdam, Holland                 
December 11    Paris, France                            
December 12    Gent, Belgium                   

If this is your first time visiting Music Scene, why not become a fan of our Facebook and Twitter pages through the icons at the top of the page. Also, check out some of our great competitions by clicking here!


One Response to “INXS announce Ciaran Gribbin AKA Joe Echo as their new lead singer & frontman!”

  1. johnnie says:

    <a href=" iowa@pedimented.wholewheat” rel=”nofollow”>.…


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.