Red Hot Chili Peppers confirm release details for brand new EP entitled ‘We Salute You’

Apr 23, 2012 No Comments by Musicscene

To commemorate their induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame this year, multi-platinum rock band Red Hot Chili Peppers will release a very special digital-only EP, entitled ‘We Salute You’, exclusively on iTunes for one week only starting from Friday the 27th of April 2012 and available on all digital selling points from the 4th of May. It features six songs from previous Hall of Fame inductees, all of whom have influenced the band musically: The Ramones, Iggy & The Stooges, Neil Young, David Bowie, The Beach Boys, and Dion and the Belmonts. Please see below for full track-listing right here on Music Scene.

Five of the six tracks have never been available digitally. “A Teenager In Love” was released as an international maxi-single; “Havana Affair” was released as a 7”-single and featured on the compilation We’re A Happy Family: A Tribute To The Ramones; “Search & Destroy” has only appeared on a now out-of-print maxi-CD, “I Get Around” was first played during Brian Wilson’s 2005 MusiCares induction speech; and “Suffragette City” was previously only available as a B-side to the band’s single “Aeroplane.” “Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere” was recorded live during Red Hot Chili Peppers’ current tour supporting their album I’m With You.

The EP will also be available via their official website.

Red Hot Chili Peppers were inducted by Chris Rock at the 27th annual Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, which took place on Saturday April 14th 2012.

The full tracklisting for ‘We Salute You‘ by Red Hot Chili Peppers is as follows:

“A Teenager in Love” (Dion and the Belmonts)

“Havana Affair” (Ramones)

“Search & Destroy” (Iggy and the Stooges)

“Everybody Knows This is Nowhere” (Neil Young) [live]

“I Get Around” (The Beach Boys) [live]

“Suffragette City” (David Bowie) [live]

Don’t miss Red Hot Chili Peppers performing live at Croke Park in Dublin on June 26th 2012 – click here to buy tickets.

If this is your first time visiting Music Scene, why not become a fan of our Facebook and Twitter pages through the icons at the top of the page. Also, check out some of our great competitions by clicking here!

No Responses to “Red Hot Chili Peppers confirm release details for brand new EP entitled ‘We Salute You’”

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.